BP #4 and beyond; 5x5 & Madcow strength training + bluep

Unfiltered Tips & Techniques centered around Blueprint Training
nigh70wl

BP #4 and beyond; 5x5 & Madcow strength training + bluep

Post by nigh70wl »

Hey everyone. This thread is going to serve as an extended log. This is my third logged BP run, my fourth overall. Over the past year, I was doing BP, but I recently realized that I've been barking up the wrong tree, and I should have been doing something for a total beginner with BB lifts, like Starting Strength. So I have been doing a very basic strength training format for the past few weeks; push/pull split, focusing on improving my form in all of my big lifts. I started at 65% 5RM SQ, ~50% 5RM for OHP, BP, DL and Pendlay rows. I've been dieting fairly successfully for the past two months with the intention of getting to about 10% bf; my diet style is Leangains intermittent fasting, carb cycling, ~maintenance calories on workout days, ~400-600cal. deficit on off days. I'm 6' and currently about 158lbs. I'm primarily interested in strength gains in the Big 3 versus hypertrophy (not that we really do bodybuilding-style hypertrophy for Blueprint), but more on that later.